Caramel

I know better than to take Alan McGee’s word for anything regarding music, but when he published a blog about Talk Talk’s Spirit of Eden in The Guardian a few weeks back I was sufficiently intruiged to get my hands on a copy. It arrived in the mail this Saturday and I haven’t listened to anything since.

Apart from the usual reactions (“whoa, what the fuck is this?”, “that’s the best use of feedback I’ve ever heard” and “is this the same guy that wrote that song that No Doubt covered?”), I couldn’t help but wonder if Blur had listened to the album before recording “Caramel”. It’s all there, from the song’s length to weird bursts of feedback, very effective use of dynamic range and vocals alternately mumbled and yelped.

It’s also happens to be one of 13‘s best moments.

Published in: on April 28, 2008 at 8:15 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blursongs.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/caramel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This website is fantastic! I hope you do manage to talk about them all..

  2. Thanks Lex, that’s really nice! I hope I manage to finish it sometime too!!


Leave a Reply

