Money Makes Me Crazy

One frustration about Blur’s three 2003 singles is that, at least where I am, they were only available as DVDs. While it’s nice to be able to play video’s as good as “Out Of Time” and “Good Song” any time I want, they proved to be a bit of a pain. I don’t want to switch on my DVD player and go through menu’s when all I want to do is listen to a damn b-side. And don’t get me started on ripping them for my iPod!

The Marrakech Mix of “Money Makes Me Crazy” appeared on “Out Of Time”, and is somewhat similar to Cornershop’s “Brimful Of Asha” (the “My Sharona” of the 1990’s, and I don’t mean that as a compliment). Bonedry guitars, weird soundeffects (that don’t really add much) and a groove that could be but will not be danced to. Better, but only slightly, is the Deepest Darkest Devon Mix, which can be found on festival celebrating compilation Benicassim 2003. It’s not awful, and maybe it would’ve sounded better if it was coupled with “Crazy Beat” instead of the mighty “Out Of Time”, but (unlike three excellent other b-sides from the period) they were right not including the song on Think Tank. Then again, an awful lot of Blurfans seem to love it… the ones that either love or don’t remember Cornershop?

Published in: on June 18, 2007 at 11:28 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blursongs.wordpress.com/2007/06/18/money-makes-me-crazy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hmm. I actually quite like this song, and I also quite like Cornershop’s album “When I Was Born For The 7th Time”, the parent album to “Brimful Of Asha”. I hope you don’t think any less of me because of that 🙂

    In my defence however, it’s worth stating the album version of “Brimful Of Asha” is different, and much better than the Norman Cook remix that made No. 1 in ’97.

  2. I’ll forgive you 😉

  3. I was gonna say much the same as the first commenter. Er, except that ‘Brimful Of Asha’ was actually Number One in February 1998.

    Oh, and I don’t really like ‘Money Makes Me Crazy’. It is on CD in the UK, so at least it’d be easier to listen to it if I wanted to.

  4. Whoops, my mistake… for some reason I thought it was in ’97. Being old as I am (26), memory ain’t what it used to be…. 🙂

  5. You think that’s old?? I’m feckin’ 28! 😦

    😉


Leave a Reply

