Crazy Beat

Like pretty much all bands with big catalogues, Blur have released a fair few weaker songs, but there are only two that I actually hate. One of them was only a b-side and is easy to overlook (at least until I decide to write about it). The other one was not only an album track nestled in between two of that album’s highlights, but unforgivably deemed good enough to follow the unquestionably excellent previous singles up the charts.

Maybe it’s because of having a universally acclaimed guest vocalist that the band or record company thought this Think Tank‘s answer to “Song 2”, but fact is that not even Donald Duck could save this Norman Cook produced monstrosity. It did manage to get to number 18 on the UK charts, the worst that any Blur single had done since “End Of A Century” at that point, and I suspect that it would’ve sold even less hadn’t one of the b-sides been one of the last songs the band had written and recorded with Graham Coxon, who famously left the band during the sessions for the album.

Donald Duck went on to collaborate with Scott Walker on “The Escape” to much greater effect, but has, for now, put his singing career on hold.

Published in: on June 5, 2007 at 9:06 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blursongs.wordpress.com/2007/06/05/crazy-beat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hated this as a single but have grown to like it in its Think Tank context. But that’s my favourite Blur album, so…

  2. I adore the album, but the song… shame cos some of the b-sides are wonderful too…
    maybe i’ll make a separate page here with alternative tracklistings for all Blur albums… how I’d have put them together with all the material from the sessions.

  3. Thankfully, Donuld Duck didn’t ruin the other Blur song he sang on – B.L.U.R.E.M.I…
    Granted, it’s hardly Blur’s best song, but at least I like it, whereas I too can’t stand Crazy Beat.

  4. Damn, forgot all about that one…Donald Duck with a vocoder… i like that one too though!

  5. for what it’s worth, i love this song. sure, it’s a little schizophrenic, and fights itself throughout, but that riff and damon’s super-processed vocal that layers over it gets me so pumped up. definitely not perfect, but it’s immediate, and it definitely makes me move. i can appreciate it for what it is.

  6. Guess this is one of those songs you either love or hate. not much middle ground… which is cool i guess!

  7. I was never taken with this song, i completely agree with your comments. By antidote to it when listening to Think Tank on my PC is to replace it with ‘Music is my Radar’ – i think it fits better and is one of my favourite blur singles


Leave a Reply

